Brandon Paul Warrants Mentioning

 

Few things would merit lifting my self-imposed Illini basketball embargo more than Brandon Paul turning in the best individual performance I have ever seen from a Fighting Illini basketball player. Look at this stat line:

      FGM-A   3PM-A  FTM-A  OREB   REB  AST   STL   BLK     TO    PF    PTS

Paul  11-15     8-10       13-15     2          8      2        2       4        7       2       43

 

The bold is mine, for the “special insanity sauce” portions of the evening. There is nothing I could possibly add to make it more interesting than it already is.

Weird scenario now, with nine days until the next game – it’s a double-edged sword, as they certainly need the rest/recovery time, but you’d like to see them run with this momentum. Then again, considering the next game is at Penn St., maybe some breathing room is needed to avoid a letdown (I have to admit, I feel better about this game now that Ed “I own Bruce Weber” DeChellis has left the building).

Here’s what I’m not going to do: I’m not going to point out the possibility of a huge home game against MSU on January 31 for the conference lead. I know better than to do that.

Leave a Reply

