Mike Quade, We Hardly Knew Ye

It seems that Theo is putting on the New Sheriff pants immediately and wiping the slate clean before the season starts by firing Mike Quade and commencing a manager search. To be honest, I’m a little surprised – Quade had all the makings of a guy that could be axed around the trade deadline in 2012 as the Cubs put their head down and plowed ahead with the rebuilding process.

I’m not sure who I want to replace him. I am quite sure of who I don’t want, however:

Image001

 

I don’t think I have much to worry about, though, since Theo pretty much ruled out Ryno in his statement released earlier (bold mine):

“The next manager must have leadership and communication skills; he must place an emphasis on preparation and accountability; he must establish high standards and a winning culture; he must have integrity and an open mind; and he must have managerial or coaching experience at the major league level.”

Excellent. This is how you run a grown-up sports operation. Other teams can run a manager trainee program (in the best news imaginable, that “other team” could be the Cardinals!). I would prefer the Cubs chose one of the many experienced guys who would line up for the job, especially considering the other hurdles that need clearing (you know, having crappy players and all that).

I know a lot of fans think Sandberg has “earned” a shot at the job. Why? Four seasons managing in the minors and “wanting it”?

To the former, Mike Quade managed the Iowa Cubs for a full three seasons and won over 1,000 minor league games. His resume kicks Sandberg’s resume’s ass. And that worked out awesome.

To the latter, I want the job, too. Like, really bad. But the Cubs shouldn’t hire me – they should hire the best person for the job, and that is assuredly not me or Sandberg. Let the other side of town run an experiment with a former player who has no experience to speak of.

Leave a Reply

