The Weekend That Was

I like that title. I think I'll keep it for all "group all the stuff from Saturday and Sunday together" posts. Also, I'm lazy.
 
Ho-hum-ish win for the Illini. I'm biased because I've been watching him for 7 years now, but Mikel Leshoure is probably going to be in the discussion for my all-time favorite Illini when it's all said and done. My favorite part of this game was when NIU ran the swinging gate and it blew up in their face. Hope you caught that one, Zooker (in all honesty, gotta give him and the staff credit for an unfathomable turnaround on special teams – we used to by jr. high-style inept and it's now a plus for us).
 
This happened:
 
I could watch that on loop for the better part of a day. Notre Dame's anguish is candy for my soul.
 
Speaking of things that are great….
 
Wide receiver Devin Hester makes a one-handed grab for a second quarter touchdown.
 
Wow. Didn't see that one coming. Is this offense legitimately good? I think it might be. I also can't remember the last time I was this impressed by the job the coaching staff did. Jay Cutler went from looking like he had no chance at walking off the field to providing the "money's worth" game that we've all been waiting for for a season-plus. I'm going to go out on a limb and circle 9/27 as an unproductive day for the city of Chicago.
 
New favorite commercial:
 
 
I would submit a third thing: NFL RedZone Channel.
Leave a Reply

